Inspired by BPLC

As always, brilliant describes BipolarLawyerCook. Inspired by that, here are my old friends. It isn’t that they are necessarily my absolute favorite books ever, but when you move countries often, most of your stuff gets left behind and you are constantly starting over. If I really need a book, I usually have to replace it. These are some that have made the journey with me at least a little bit.

My camera is kind of broken, so I can’t get it to really focus, but still, I love them. I think the fuzzy picture sort of captures it anyway.

dscf1851sm.jpg

This copy of The Princess Bride is my father’s. I think it is the only gift I have from him. I don’t think it was really a gift. I just took it. I always return to ee cummings after a bad episode, when I start to come back to life. Sometimes when I am down as well, being answered only with spring is fair enough for death. I even opened it today. It was sunny and I woke up better than I have been since this whole med debacle and that is my little prayer:

i thank You God for most this amazing
day
:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky;and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday:this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings:and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

Lolita is on its side because the front cover is missing, but it is my original copy from some dingy used bookstore. It also has been with me since college in that kingdom by the sea.

Fanny, however, is not my original copy, which was black and had a prettier cover. It reminds me about adventure, bravery, that life should be at least a little picaresque, that every woman needs to be a little bit of a witch. This copy came from a tiny used bookstore somewhere in the Middle East.

dscf1854sm.jpg

The Carl Sagan, I’ve had since high school. It only recently made the move from my mother’s garage to here with me. My original library had all of his books, but being a biology type, that’s the one that made it with me, though I also found Demon-Haunted World very comforting. Variety of Life lived with me during my pre-med days. I probably should have stayed a field biologist. I just love Wicked for the story. It is a recent acquisition, relatively speaking. So is Maiden Voyage, but rereading it has taken me through many a hard night.

3 Comments

  1. Oh, these are wonderful. And yes, my poetry books have, for now, moved in to my bedside withing groping, grasping, reach.

    The cemetery at the top of my street hosts cummings’ remains, as well as other literary lions. And he’s in a nice spot, so I will sometimes bring poems and a blanket and sit nearby.

  2. oh, dear, i feel soo unread…the only one i have read is “Wicked”…it was good. i liked “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” better though. Loved the quotes. are you okay? when i was going through my second most suicidal time. way back in the eighties, the book i literally slept with was “The Courage to Live”, by Ari Kiev, MD…i was 18. i thought at the time that was the worst it could get…ha!
    take care of yourself, little Sara

  3. I can’t imagine having to leave my books behind, ever. My parents always would bitch when I moved back and forth from school, because my 200 or so lbs of books would always come with me. I never know when I’m going to have to pull one of them down to frantically find one line or paragraph.

    Thanks for sharing your books–I, too, throw my full support behind the cummings, but we’ve talked about this before. That collection you have is my favorite after the Complete Works–it’s the one with the pictures he drew, right? That one of the couple facing the lake is so simple and perfect.

    I’m glad you are starting to feel better…and I leave you with this:

    we’re anything brighter than even the sun
    (we’re everything greater
    than books
    might mean)
    we’re everanything more than believe
    (with a spin
    leap
    alive we’re alive)
    we’re wonderful one times one


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

